The app was first announced at the end of 2016 as an app to quickly and securely share your location with close friends or family members so they can monitor you remotely, or find your location in an emergency.
The Trusted Contacts app – which does not contain any social elements – focused on the location sharing feature.
The app was available on Android and iOS, and there’s a simple list of recent activities for trusted people and the device’s battery status.
The app’s description when it was first announced, “You can share your location with others if you feel insecure, or want someone to pay attention to you, Meanwhile, others can request your location in an emergency.
The main difference with the Trusted Contacts app is that you cannot unsubscribe, so if someone requests your location and you don’t reply, your location will be shared automatically.
The app later added special timeouts and a permanent location sharing feature, and also included a degree of integration With the most extensive Google Contacts service, it can be managed online.
Google has informed existing users that the Trusted Contacts app will not be supported after December 1, 2020.
The app joined a long list of services that ended very early, and the app is no longer available via the Google Play or Apple Store, and its website indicates that support will end completely as of December 1.
And if the application is installed on your device, you can continue to use it until then, and you can try sharing the location in Google Maps To share your location with others.
The company recommends replacing the Trusted Contacts app after closing it with the location sharing feature in Google Maps.
The Trusted Contacts app hasn’t gotten updates for some time, while Google Maps has got many features, such as: security checking and emergency sharing via pixel devices.