Modern technology gives us many things.

Android 12 supports hibernating unused apps

0 0

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Android fans are looking forward to the launch a company Google for the new official version of the operating system, and some details have appeared about the features of the upcoming operating system, and one of the features that was discovered is the ability to hibernate the application.

The sleep feature is designed to automatically stop unused apps to free up space on the smartphone, as the feature removes temporary files from unused apps.

Although this feature did not appear in publicly available developer preview versions, however Report New from XDA Developers confirming hibernate code presence.

With Google’s release of the third preview version for developers of Android 11, the company added an automatic revocation feature for new permissions that revoke the app’s permission if the app was not used for two months.

After the arrival of the final version of Android 11, Google published more details about the feature, including a screenshot that displays a notification that informs the user when app permissions have been revoked, and a screenshot that shows the unused apps settings page with a list of apps whose permissions have been revoked automatically.

And in Android 12, Google seems to be working to expand the concept of unused apps with the new feature of hibernating apps.

In addition to automatically revoking permissions for unused apps, Android 12 also wipes temporary files to free up storage space.

The new Unused apps section on the app info page includes a new option to remove permissions and free up space.

In comparison, there is the option to automatically revoke permissions under Android 11 – which was later renamed to remove permissions if the app is not used – under the app’s permissions subpage under the app’s info page.

This makes sense, given that the new option in Android 12 deals with permissions and storage instead of just permissions.

The Unused Applications page displays apps that haven’t been opened in a few months, and their description states that permissions have been revoked, notifications turned off, and temporary files removed if an app has not been used for a few months.

According to the code changes, the app’s hibernate feature clears the cache and deletes items in order to free up storage space.

Neither of these two actions will free up much space, but this depends on the app that’s hibernating and the number of cached files stored.

Users with lower-end devices with less storage see more benefit, but all users benefit from unused apps whose permissions are automatically revoked.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.